When you are using the MacBook since a long time, then there arise lots of questions in your mind such as: Is it the right time to completely wipe your MacBook Pro and return it to the factory setting? Does your MacBook seem a little long in the tooth? Is there any problem which you can’t seem to solve no matter how can you try? The solution to all these questions is only one i.e. just Rest your MacBook. Whether you are selling it online or offline or loaning it out to your friend or returning it to the store, it is critically important for you to wipe all your data and settings from it so that you can safely and securely give it to the next user.

Your computer crammed with personal information that ranges from selfies to credit card information or your some personal documents, to say nothing of your browser history. The next person to use your MacBook Pro may not care about all these things, but pirates are everywhere and you never know what someone might do with your personal information and data. The reason why we need to perform the factory reset is the hard drive on your MacBook Pro contains your personal mages, browsing history or work files or iTunes count etc., therefore to make all those things private and clear we need to reset it.

Therefore, this article will help you to understand how to reset your MacBook Pro so that your privacy will be highly protected thereafter also. Now that you know, it is crucial to reset your MacBook Pro or any computer for that matter, before you pass it on to another person. Let’s start with some of the simple steps and the process of how to reset your MacBook:

Backup Everything

Before you wipe your MacBook Pro, all you need to do is to back up everything that you may require with you to your next Mac or reload into this one when you are completed. The easiest and simplest way to do is to use Time Machine, which is the backup application built into MacOS. For this, you must follow the simple steps:

  • Navigate to system preferences and time machine
  • Now, select the backup disk and use the external drive or a USB drive.
  • Finally, follow the wizard to format the target drive and thus copy all the chosen files across.

Signs Out Everything

It is not strictly important to sign out of your apps, but you may need to take the precaution and abundance of cautions. This will make your life easier when you start working with new computer and will also ensure those apps that link themselves to particular devices, and also can link to your new system quickly and without any fuss.

Erase the disk

Once, you have saved all that you may need further, now signed out of your applications and de-authorized linked applications. It is the time to reboot your Mac and thus erase the drive from it. You must make sure that your MacBook Pro is plugged into a wall outlet and has the internet access with the help of Ethernet or Wi-Fi before continuing with the erasure process. If your version of MacOS is Mountain Lion or older than it, then you may require original installation media.

Reboot your Mac

At the time of reboot sequence, hold down the Command +R until you see the logo of Apple.

  • Choose Disk Utility when the menu appears.
  • Choose Continue and then Startup Disk.
  • Choose Erase from the top menu and Mac OS Extended from the popup menu that appears.
  • Choose Erase button.
  • Choose Quit Disk Utility once complete.

Depending upon the version of your MacBook Pro, the wordings of the utility menu selection many slightly differ from each other. Just make sure that you are choosing the appropriate option that wipes the risk completely.

Reinstall MACOS (modern MACOS)

Once you select Quit Disk Utility in the above step, then all you need to do is that you will see a window which mentions re-installations

  • Select Reinstall MacOS from there.
  • Your MacBook Pro will use Ethernet or Wi-Fi for connecting to the Apple servers and download the latest MacOS version automatically forms it.
  • Now, wait for it to download and install.
  • Reinstall MACOS (Mountain lion)

For Mountain Lion or a previous version of MacOS, all you need to do is to use the original installation media, in order to reload MacOS.

  • Choose Reinstall MacOS (or the equivalent language).
  • Your MacBook Pro will prompt you for the installation media; insert it.
  • Wait for it to install.

The MacBook Pro is a pretty fast machine so the process of installation will run very quickly. The process itself is robust and you must run into any difficulties once the installation process has begun.

Finishing Up

Once MacOS has completed the downloading and installing, and then it should present you with the setup assistant. What you do from mere completely depends upon what you are intending to do with the machine. If you are keeping it and hence starting it again, then follow the setup assistant with the process to localize your computer. Now, you can then download all your apps and files as you see fir and begin using your computer once and more. If you are selling it or giving it away, then you must hold the common +Q to skip the setup assistant and the new owner will need to set up the MacBook Pro as per their needs so there is no need to run all throughout the process, you can just skip it and let them set things up when they take some possession.

Conclusion

That’s all, what it takes to rest a MacBook Pro. Hope all these steps will help you out to rest your MacBook, as it is a simple process and should never give you any problem. You just remember that de-authorizing your apps; will make your life easier in the coming future when you need to reinstall those applications on a different computer.